Trapped Inside of Me – Facing the Ugly Truth!

In my last blog I decided to openly make a confession to my addiction to food. In my mission to becoming healthy and losing weight, there are truths that I had to face. As with so many people dealing with obesity or other eating disorders, there are ALWAYS underlying reasons as to why this is a problem. The biggest reason for me is lack of self-control when it comes to food. It’s not just the fact that certain foods are just absolutely delicious but it became a comfort for me to deal with things that I would be experiencing at that time. {Commonly known as being an emotional eater). 

Let me share when I discovered this embarrassing, ugly truth. When I lived in San Diego, California, it was the first time I had been away from everyone that I knew and my life took a turn in an unfamiliar direction. I was newly married (previous marriage) and things were pretty rocky. I turned to food. I would walk down to the corner store and buy all these snack foods (usually sugary snacks) and I would sneak and eat them. Hide the evidence from myself because I knew it was wrong but it made me feel so much better because it comforted me in a way I wasn’t receiving from my former husband. Everytime I felt rejected the more I turned to food and the numbers kept moving to the right and I blamed the dryer for my shrinking clothes. (DENIAL!) 

Some of the symptoms that I encountered that lead to emotional eating were: loneliness, boredom, feeling rejected, lack of confidence, lack of motivation, not feeling accepted, believing that people were judging me because of how I looked, not feeling loved, my prayer life…the list goes on and on. {We’ll discuss some of these in another blog.} Most individuals dealing with obesity, overeating, or emotional eating do not accept the truth that there is a problem and that help is needed. Usually the “root” of the problem is ignored or not taking the time to dig under all those layers that could go so far back in the life of the individual. It definitely goes SKIN DEEP! We’re not discussing accountability at this point because it is definitely one to be discussed. Please bear with me…it’s coming. Also, please consider the next time you see someone that is “trapped inside of themself” before you judge their outter appearance say a prayer of deliverance, healing, and forgiveness instead because it is needed. Take this journey with me…I’m headed somewhere! 

Stay tuned…

15 thoughts on “Trapped Inside of Me – Facing the Ugly Truth!

  1. Dee Owens

    Gina, 
    I love the way you so eloquently express yourself.  Although your blog focuses on your personal struggle with addiction to food…I find myself relating.  Although my struggle is a different type of struggle than yours…the reasons why we struggle is all the same (feeling rejected, no motivation, lack of confidence, etc); the only difference is how we deal with our pain.  You choose food…I choose to rebel and act out.  It’s astonishing how the “lack” of something can lead to us becoming excessive in other areas of our lives.  It goes to show us that our minds/thoughts are powerful and can lead us to doing things that can potentially be harmful to ourselves and those we love.  Gina, this blog is not only for you…it’s for me too! Thanks so much for being so open and willing to share your journey.

    Reply
    1. Regina A. Addo Post author

      Thank you so much Dee! I totally understand where you’re coming from. I’m sure we all share different struggles and you’re right its how we choose to handle it. That in itself can be difficult when you don’t know what to do. But as we learn better we will do better, as Maya Angelou has shared. Thanks for sharing in the journey!

      Reply
  2. Lady D

    Wow! I am a sista that LOVES food as well. And you are so correct, it is not that I love food so much, but it because of the “lack” of something! Really did not discover or uncover that issue until I found myself in a terrible work environment. I thought it was the environment, but low and behold it was me! Because of that environment and me leaving it, I have uncovered some pretty amazing attributes of myself and I am very proud of me. Thanks for sharing your story and please continue. By you sharing, it gives me another ray of hope and sunshine…… Thanks and MUCH love!

    Reply
  3. God is my nutrition

    Hey sis, we came from the same blood. You and I suppose to be different but “FOOD” is our comfort zone. I not going to sugar code it, yes “FOOD” was my safely. Growing up to be loneliness, boredom, emotion, rejected, hope that people will not judge me because of how I looked and how I approach to things or how I would say words. The hardest thing that is not having a relapsed [thrust me I do relapsed] “FOOD” because I get so unset over things that even not going my ways or doing people ways or ask why these things had happen to me in the past. There is some emotion feeling that keeping me going in the past. Sister girl you know what I am talking about. Well I keeping on asked [GOD] PLEASE take away the hurt that I have in me and for a few minute its goes away as long I keep myself busy like working, cleaning the house, working at the gym, and going to school. I do understand what you are going through; we going to ask pray and worship to [GOD] to guide all of us who are facing obesity. Here we go let’s keep MOVING……………

    Reply
  4. Roshonn

    Hey girl, as you know I understand your battle as I am on the front line with you. We are at war with our flesh. When we are going through something it trigger’s the enemy in us. We can do ALL things through Christ strengthen us.

    Reply
  5. Zanjha Brown

    Gina,
    It is strange (yet Devine) how the mind and body will get what it needs from where-ever it can. Our challenge is to refocus our mind so it gets the necessities from an appropriate place. I am sure of everyone you share your blog with 99.9% can understand and attest to similar situations or similar ways of dealing with issues. By digging deep you will find not only triggers, but solutions that are just right for you. As always I am here and available as this is one issue I have dealt with and too continue to deal with, as I try to conquer my own mind demons.

    Zanjha

    Reply
    1. Minister Evelyn Smith

      Gina,
      I love this, because it reminds me so much of me when I was struggling with acceptance of “WHO I AM”. It was such a battle to see myself wrestle with wanting to be accepted by everyone that I love. So I heard the voice of God when he said he was gonna help me, to conquer “MY INNER DEMONS” and truly glutton was one of them. As I was reading your blog, I am reminded in James 5:16, where it said, “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” I’ve learned that Confession is very good for the soul, and it helps us to move forward in our Divine Destiny with God. Allowing God to show us his manifested Glory, when he helps us to be strong in areas we know the enemy have lied and said that it can’t be done. my dear sister in Christ, I BELIEVE GOD for all that he is doing for us as a WHOLE! in Jesus name be BLESSED! AND CONTINUE ON, FOR i WILL BE JOURNEYING WITH YOU! LOVE YA!

      Reply
  6. Tamesha Wallace

    I’m very proud of you,and I pray that you will continue to allow God’s love to heal you inside and out.

    Reply
  7. Erin

    I truly love this blog.. you are so honest& brave girl! I def can relate to this topic! Not too many people open up about their weight issues, due to denial/embarassment etc. So awesome how the Lord has opened your eyes…I believe by sharing this testimony, it will help many and also yourself with being held accountable to others. Stay focused on Him& He will continue to give you more & more strength to overcome!! God is working in the midst!!! ~Phil. 4:13~

    Prayers& blessings to you Gina! :))

    Reply
    1. Regina A. Addo Post author

      Thank you so very much Erin! I really appreciate your support and I certainly do hope to not only bring change and awareness in my life but also in the lives of others. ~Blessings!

      Reply
  8. Linda Turner

    Very inspiring and I am eager to want to know whats next. You are such a beautiful and smart woman who has amazing thoughtfulness and loving words to help individuals to live victorious in their trails in life. I was encouraged and keep on been obedient to God will for your life. Remember this you must always love yourself no matter what obstacles you will face and must endure. It’s two bible verses I would like to encourage you even more as well. Be on your guard;stand firm in the faith; be of good courage and be strong. 1corinthians16:13. It takes courage to eliminate fear. “We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed…therefore, we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. 2corinthians4:8-9,16. Disgusting is depression but how delightful is a healthy life with God. Stay Strong and Don’t be let your heart be Troubled. Keep trusting in Jesus. Love you! You are loved by many:-)”

    Reply

Please share your thoughts...