Trapped Inside of Me – The Silent Addiction

I titled this segment “The Silent Addiction” because the problem is widely seen but is the least favored subject. I hope to change that…one reader at a time. In my last blog I shared some of the identifiers that lead to “emotional eating” or “overeating”. It’s a hard truth to face but an even harder truth to do something about it. Obesity is the addiction no one wants to talk about because in the society we live in there’s a “to each their own” mentality. We hear ALL the information one could stand to hear on weight loss regimens that include pills and special diets  (crash diets) that only becomes a band-aid to the problem. Trust me I know! I have done the “special teas”, weight loss pills, shakes and etc. but no one gave me anything to help me with those emotional triggers that would have me making a beeline to the refrigerator or the snack aisle at the grocery store. No one sat down with me and simply asked, “Gina, what’s EATING you?” (Literally!)  So when I became upset about something that alarm would ring off in me to EAT whatever I thought I had a craving for that seemingly just “appeared”. It is easy to withdraw from family and friends when food provides you with this temporary comfort that operates like a quick-fix drug that sends you on this high and crashes fast with nothing left to do but seek the next fix! (I’m just keeping it real!)

One of the reasons I believe obesity is one of the least addictions talked about is because no one wants to come across as offensive, disrespectful, or hurt someone’s feelings and I totally understand how that can be portrayed. One of my goals in this blog series is to bring awareness and share my story. I still struggle with dealing with those emotional triggers and just plain old poor eating habits. This is real folks! People are on lifetime maintenance medication for illnesses due to poor choices about food. People have lost their limbs due to complications from diabetes from poor eating habits. Some people have lost their lives. My personal goal is to not fall prey or victim these things because I know that’s NOT God’s will for my life. If you’re battling this and you’re reading this blog…It’s NOT God’s will for your life either! I know there are many of you feeling trapped on the inside and I certainly hope you make a decision that you want to be HEALTHY & LIVE your best life according to God’s will! I don’t have all the answers, solutions, or how-to’s but I do have a voice! Will you speak up?!

About "Ms. Gina"

I'm merely a vessel to be used by God. In covenant with the Lord Jesus. I believe the infallible Word of God, His Son Jesus Christ, and the power of the Holy Spirit! In which I am nothing without Him. Currently, residing in Orlando, Florida. I am also a budding entrepreneur to coach and motivate women in leadership, youth empowerment, and supporting women in becoming the "MORE THAN" they were designed to be and to go in and possess the land! My blogs are a conglomeration of personal experiences, things "caught and taught", and pearls of wisdom shared. I am a graduate of Nova Southeastern University with a Masters of Science in Leadership and Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. Come along on the journey with me...WELCOME TO MY WORLD! ~Blessings and Favor! For more info...www.imotivatesolutions.com View all posts by "Ms. Gina"

8 responses to “Trapped Inside of Me – The Silent Addiction

  • tabbycat07

    Amen to that! If someone starts abusing alcohol or drugs, people fall into a frenzy. But if someone starts overeating for the same emotional reason, everyone turns a blind eye. And no one wants to face the fact that food can be just as addictive as drugs. I fight every day to try to turn my diet around, and I feel sometimes as though I’m calling out for help and no one believes I need it. It’s so hard to make good food choices when the foods that are the worst for you are the ones that are advertised to you all hours of the day and the ones that are most readily available. I applaud you for this post, and I will definitely be checking back soon.

    • Regina A. Addo

      THANK YOU so much for your response! I certainly hope you won’t mind me sharing a little bit of your response in a future blog for you pointed out some key points that need to be shared! Thanks for sharing & please stay tuned!! I hope you’re “FOLLOWING”! 🙂 ~Blessings!

  • Zanjha Brown

    Gina,
    I think you have some of the problem covered here. However, I really believe the bulk of the problem is the American issue with MENTAL HEALTH. As TabbyCat07 noted if someone has a drug or alcohol issue it is taken more seriously. MENTAL HEALTH is a very real problem that no one wants to admit to or deal with in our communities or countryin general. There is a stigma attached to it. It is so bad because no one wants to be labled or flagged as a crazy person. So how do most people deal with it? They self medicate; THAT is what OVEREATING is. We use food to soothe the inner beasts. Keep up the good work. I applaude you as always. Z

    • Regina A. Addo

      Thanks Z! There are so many underlying issues going on in our society and I just stand & believe God’s word “If My people who are called by my Name, shall humble themselves, and pray and seek my face; then I will hear from heaven, forgive their sins and heal the land.” 2 Cor 7:14. We ALL need healing from something…God help us. 🙂 Thanks for supporting as always!

  • Ms. B

    WOW “BLESS YOU ALL” “GOD BLESS YOU ALL” PLEASE GOD BLESS THEM ALL!!!! (TEAR) LOVE YOU SIS.

  • Maggie Lesure

    My sis instructed me about your web site and the way great it is. She’s right, I am actually impressed with the writing and slick design. It appears to me you’re simply scratching the floor in terms of what you may accomplish, however you’re off to an ideal begin!
    Welcome to my blogger investment advisor.

  • Brooke Gordon

    I don’t even know where to begin to say THANK YOU…..I’ve been struggling my entire life with this addiction and nobody has ever heard my cry for HELP but as I made a decision to OBEY God with my whole heart and stop sinning through overeating, laziness, procrastination and choosing food. OVER God he heard my cry and allowed me to somehow come across your blog. For so long I’ve felt so alone like no one understands but in reading your blogsbi cant stop the tears from rolling down my eyes because you understand. I am so full of HOPE and CONFIDENCE that I can lose weight, be in shape and live a healthy lifestyle all to the GLORY of God! It has been 3 weeks of me dying to myself and each day is a FIGHT against my flesh and my own desires and sometimes I mess up but even when I do I’m reminded that God’s GRACE is SUFFICIENT and his strength is made PERFECT in my weakness!!!!…I’m am in the FIGHT of my life and I declare that I am VICTORIOUS…There are definitely so many underlying issues that God has been EXPOSING and I just get into his presence and surrender it all to him and allow him to CHANGE me in that moment. I’m breaking FREE!! I will be checking back often to follow your blog and be encouraged. please know that even though I don’t know you I LOVE YOU WITH THE LOVE OF CHRIST…He is so PLEASED with you and I’m so PROUD of you, I stand with you and I’m praying fervently for you as you continue as WE continue this journey together. I would love for us to connect personally my email is brooke.gordon@Yahoo.com. May the Blessings of God overflow in your life, may God’s strength give you the power to overcome every obstacle and challenge, may the Joy of the Lord fill you, and may the peace of God which surpasses all understanding guard your heart and mind in Christ Jesus is my prayer for you!! Psalms 20:1-5.

    Brooke Gordon

    • Regina A. Addo

      Brooke, let me first start off by saying I am so humbled by your comment post. For so long I’ve been wanting to do this but I didn’t know when or how but I thank God for walking me through this. I am SO much better than I used to be and God has definitely strengthened me because my mind is made up to present my body as a living sacrifice holy and acceptable to God (Romans 12:1). No special gimmicks, no pills, no magic wand…just prayer. Now I don’t mind telling people, “Hey, I’m on a mission to be healthy! I’m learning how to eat according to portion size via Weight Watchers and it has been working for me and I love it!! 🙂 Your words were very thoughtful and encouraging as well and I THANK YOU! Yes, let’s definitely connect and by all means feel free to share your progress. Don’t forget to click “FOLLOW” from the ‘Home’ so you can receive immediate notifications via email of new blog posts. God bless you & keep moving forward! 🙂

Please share your thoughts...

