Trapped Inside of Me – “ACCOUNTABILITY!”

This week has been challenging week for me. Yes, I face days where I just want to give up and post my “Whatever!” sign on the outside of the door and sulk. Let me share a little confession to set the stage to where I’m going in this blog. Earlier this week I got knocked down pretty hard in my emotions and I stopped at McDonald’s and ordered a small fry and a chicken sandwich. As I was eating the food I felt guilty and embarrassed because I did not enjoy it at all and I was more upset with what was going on inside of me and wanted to avoid dealing with it. Afterwards, I stopped at the store and to my dismay I picked up a candy bar. Yep! I sure did! As soon as I got in the car I called one of my close friends and the first thing I said was, “I have a confession to make.” I proceeded to admit that I had bought a candy bar but at this point I am NOW aware that wasn’t the candy bar that I wanted but the need to feed what was going inside of me. I further went on to explain that I had stopped by McDonald’s and how I felt afterwards. What a relief it was to get that OFF MY CHEST!

The reason I felt relieved is because I had to face the one thing that I used to avoid and that was ACCOUNTABILITY! I could have eaten the fast food and the candy bar (by the way, I did NOT eat the candy bar!) and no one would have ever known and it would have just been my little secret. I am accountable to what I put inside my body and in my strides to desire to be healthy I would have only been harming myself instead. I can not sit and write these blogs and bring awareness to obesity and encourage readers to be healthy if I am not honest with myself or you. No one wakes up one day and decide they are going to be 500 pounds. Something happens that sets an individual down this path and is totally consumed by food and the will to stop is overpowered. Although there are many reasons as I have explained in previous blogs that are underlying issues to obesity – there is still the factor of accountability. There may be factors that happen in an individual’s life that render this unfortunate circumstance but at the end of the day each individual is accountable for the choice that is made. I acknowledge the choice I made and also owned it and used it as a catalyst to move on! I didn’t stay there because I became accountable for my actions no matter what the offset was that led to it. That was not always the case in past times so I know that I am progressing.

I give thanks to God because I am also accountable to Him, first! Let me share this with you: “So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life-your sleeping, eating, going to work, and walking around life and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him.” (Romans 12:1, MSG) Please find someone who you can be accountable to when you fall or are falling so that you may be encouraged and truthfully face what is before you. Check your emotions. Ask yourself, “Why am I eating this?” More importantly, ask yourself, “Am I honoring God with my body?” My desire is to encourage you to avoid these pitfalls that I missed in hopes that you’re able to detect these triggers early on. We’ll revisit accountability again… I’m on a mission, will you join me!? *Please watch the video in its entirety by Yolanda Adams and I pray it encourages you as it has me. Don’t EVER GIVE UP! ~Blessings!

 

About "Ms. Gina"

I'm merely a vessel to be used by God. In covenant with the Lord Jesus. I believe the infallible Word of God, His Son Jesus Christ, and the power of the Holy Spirit! In which I am nothing without Him. Currently, residing in Orlando, Florida. I am also a budding entrepreneur to coach and motivate women in leadership, youth empowerment, and supporting women in becoming the "MORE THAN" they were designed to be and to go in and possess the land! My blogs are a conglomeration of personal experiences, things "caught and taught", and pearls of wisdom shared. I am a graduate of Nova Southeastern University with a Masters of Science in Leadership and Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. Come along on the journey with me...WELCOME TO MY WORLD! ~Blessings and Favor! For more info...www.imotivatesolutions.com View all posts by "Ms. Gina"

6 responses to “Trapped Inside of Me – “ACCOUNTABILITY!”

  • Lady D

    Wow! “Allowing” yourself to be accountable, without regret or bad feelings, is a HUGE step! I am proud of you………. Secondly, you have identified “those” feelings you have that trigger the binge eating. Again, I am so proud of you! Knowing and acknowledging those feelings have allowed you to move forward…. Keep pushing forward, my sista! I stand in your corner daily!!!!

    Peace, Love and BLESSINGS!

    • Regina A. Addo

      Thanks so much! I’m very grateful to have friends that I can turn to that are in my corner & likewise. I’m glad I’m not where I used to be. All about awareness! 🙂 I appreciate your support sis! Much love!

  • Chenel

    That’s right beautiful…..NEVER GIVE UP!

  • Erin

    Yes you hit it on the button…Accountability is so important!! Having people you can trust to go to & call on, who understand& can pray w/you, is God sent! I love that Yolanda Adams song you posted also..so inspiring!! 🙂

  • eghamlin

    I admire your transparency. I am a transparent person, too, sometimes too much so, lol. I applaud you for speaking truth and love. 😉

Please share your thoughts...

