Trapped Inside of Me – What We Do Know Can Help Us!

There is an old saying, “what you don’t know won’t hurt.” Well, by now you have understood this to not be true. I start gaining weight as a young child when I lived with my grandparents in Alabama. I was told when I was a child to eat all my food because there were children in Africa starving. Sounds familiar? Somehow that stuck with me and I ate that and then some and as the weight picked up – there came the “fat jokes” and “nicknames” all at my uncomfortable cost. Growing up on southern dishes  or soul food dishes such as cornbread, collard greens, fat back, hammocks, fried chicken, fried pork chop, creamy style corn, buttermilk, bread, beans, macaroni and cheese, peach cobbler, sweet potato pie, pecan pie, fried chicken gizzards, fried catfish, fried okra, sweet potato casserole, smothered whatever, butter and salt in EVERYTHING etc. and if you know soul food then you know what I’m talking about. Don’t get me wrong, these dishes are collectibles J and I love them as much as many of you. If I knew then what I know now as I get older how the over excessive eating of these food on a consistent basis can render poor health problems, eventually. Like what? I’m glad you asked. Let’s do roll call:

  • Hypertension
  • Heart disease and Stroke
  • Diabetes
  •  Cancer
  • Gallbladder disease and gallstones
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Breathing problems (sleep apnea – when a person stops breathing for a short time while sleeping and asthma)
  • Aching knees, back, and ankles

Now I do understand that many individuals are suffering from the above mentioned symptoms that are not obese and some of these symptoms are genetic but my intention is to bring attention to potential health problems associated with obesity. I am in a personal fight of faith to come against ALL of these attacks by simply watching what I eat (choosing wisely), planning my portion size and I have found that I am actually satisfied with smaller portions, doing some type of physical activity 3 – 4 times a week, and lots of water. Did you know that just losing 10 -20 pounds could notably lessen your chances of the above mentioned ailments? Also, if you are currently affected by any or all of the above, did you know that you could improve your health drastically and be one day closer to the doctor taking you off those maintenance medications? Let’s change our mindset to, “What we do KNOW can HELP us!” Will you join the mission with me? I’m already in motion!

About "Ms. Gina"

I'm merely a vessel to be used by God. In covenant with the Lord Jesus. I believe the infallible Word of God, His Son Jesus Christ, and the power of the Holy Spirit! In which I am nothing without Him. Currently, residing in Orlando, Florida. I am also a budding entrepreneur to coach and motivate women in leadership, youth empowerment, and supporting women in becoming the "MORE THAN" they were designed to be and to go in and possess the land! My blogs are a conglomeration of personal experiences, things "caught and taught", and pearls of wisdom shared. I am a graduate of Nova Southeastern University with a Masters of Science in Leadership and Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. Come along on the journey with me...WELCOME TO MY WORLD! ~Blessings and Favor! For more info...www.imotivatesolutions.com View all posts by "Ms. Gina"

9 responses to “Trapped Inside of Me – What We Do Know Can Help Us!

  • yotrip

    Transparent is so needed when we reach out to help others and seek to also help ourselves. Continue to be a beacon of light and truth on the tough issues we have to face on this journey called life. Blessings to you

  • Chenel

    I really do thank you for this information. Like you, I’m beginning my weight loss journey. I can know longer allow food to have rule over me. In the name of Jesus, I pray total control over that food demon. I’m in the motion as well! Wish you the best beautiful!

    • Regina A. Addo

      Hey Beautiful Lady! It was SO good seeing you & you look amazing! Thank you for your support & encouragement! Its SO good to know that I’m not on this journey alone for it is truly a work in progress. But more importantly I’m glad I’m making strides in doing SOMETHING! I’m acknowledging that I have an issue & it’s TRYING to rob me of an abundant life. NOT SO!! So I encourage you too sis & whether its a half lb or a whole lb I’ll CELEBRATE WITH YOU!! Love ya!

  • Zanjha Brown

    Good job Gina. So are we going to get pictures each month as you begin to reach your goals? I hope so. 🙂

    Z

  • Erin

    I have to admit the first paragraph of this made my mouth water..all that yummmmy food LOL! My parents told me& my siblings the exact same thing growing up..so that statement does stick with you over the yrs. So crazy how such delicious food can cause so many health issues..not fair lol!! You gave a lot of great pointers& very informative!
    One day at a time….Blessings :))

  • Natasha Renae

    I’m with you Sistagirlfriend…Love You Gina!

Please share your thoughts...

