Trapped Inside of Me – You Are Not Alone

Since I have started this series on “Trapped Inside of Me” I have gained so many supporters and if you’re reading this right now…allow me to personally THANK YOU! In my effort to bring awareness to obesity and the underlying truths many of us have yet to face…I’m here to tell you that YOU can take a stand! (Please join me!) I know what it is like to experience certain prejudices with being overweight. Yes, I know what it’s like to walk into a room and all eyes are fixated on the “fat girl”. (I’m just keeping it real!)

Let me share one of my most embarrassing moments (trust me, there are many)! I had taken a trip to Los Angeles a few years ago and I sat next to an older woman and in the midst of me trying to buckle my seatbelt I heard, “They should make special seats for people LIKE you.” I looked at her and smiled as I replied, “And exactly what KIND of people am I?” Of course I was terribly offended not to mention embarrassed but to be honest with you I was having the darndest time with that seatbelt because of my weight. It’s just the truth! I’m learning to let the truth be the truth. Don’t get me wrong I think it is preposterous to be rude, obnoxious, and belittling towards people because of one’s own personal perceptions! Everybody’s mirror serves the same exact purpose — to reflect!

I assure YOU that you are not alone in this fight. It’s not too late to make a decision to take charge of your health. I know it’s hard. My friend, I know your struggles. I understand your pain, embarrassment, and the inner part of you that wants to be FREE! You may be thinking, “How do I make this change? Where do I begin? It is so hard!” The BEST way is to start off with prayer! Look at what God’s Word says concerning us, “Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” (3 John 1:2 NIV)

I just wanted to take a moment to encourage you! This is a day-by-day process for me but as God has graced me with each passing day I take a moment to reflect if I made good choices towards becoming healthy. Be encouraged!

About "Ms. Gina"

I'm merely a vessel to be used by God. In covenant with the Lord Jesus. I believe the infallible Word of God, His Son Jesus Christ, and the power of the Holy Spirit! In which I am nothing without Him. Currently, residing in Orlando, Florida. I am also a budding entrepreneur to coach and motivate women in leadership, youth empowerment, and supporting women in becoming the "MORE THAN" they were designed to be and to go in and possess the land! My blogs are a conglomeration of personal experiences, things "caught and taught", and pearls of wisdom shared. I am a graduate of Nova Southeastern University with a Masters of Science in Leadership and Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. Come along on the journey with me...WELCOME TO MY WORLD! ~Blessings and Favor! For more info...www.imotivatesolutions.com View all posts by "Ms. Gina"

7 responses to “Trapped Inside of Me – You Are Not Alone

  • Lady D

    Wow! I have had that experience as well with the seat on the airplane. Even though I did not get the comment from a passenger, I did get the comment from the flight attendant. I have not taken a flight since. I also know that people usually make lots of assumptions about you because of your weight. Most people assume that I am mean, uneducated, certainly unfocused. But as soon as an interaction with me occurs, all of those assumptions fade. I take pride in my appearance because that is another stereotype that overweight people tend to carry. We are thought to be untidy, not groomed properly and maybe even carry a body odor. Keeping it real, some of us do have those issues, but I am not one of those people. I tend to go to the other extreme. I pay very close attend to my body for cleanliness as well as dealing fashion. And I must agree, some overweight people really need to understand that some things you purchase to wear is not flattering to your body type. Again, I am not making a judgement call, I am stating the truth. Concerning my appearance, I have been told (yes spoken to my face) you wear beautiful clothing or outfits. At first it may appeared to be a compliment, but deep down was it a dig. However, I did thank the person and really had to reflect on what the person had said and who that person really was. Not everyone is trying to hurt or harm you, but rather just do not know what to say. At that point, please just don’t say anything.

    Thanks for ALL of your HONEST post and please keep them coming. It is good to know that I am NOT in this battle alone.

    • Regina A. Addo

      Thanks for commenting Lady! Airplane experiences can be the worst! I forgot to add this in my blog…I was on another flight and was preparing, AGAIN, to buckle my seatbelt when the flight attendant walked past me and put an EXTENDED buckle on the back of my seat. Did NOT do that for anyone else! You are absolutely right that women (in general) should take the effort in the up keep of ourselves (men too!); however, it is sad seeing those that have given up due to their embarrassment with their weight problems. We must lift one another up and pray for people as well. Prayer changes things! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  • Roshonn

    Very true, I have many too but one of the them is….. Visualize this… Walking into a resturant with a few thin (enough) friends, “a party of five?” “yes, but could you give us a table please.” My friend’s smile as the waittress escourt us to a table smack in the middle of the resturant. I try not to make eye contact with anyone until I’m seated. They a very kind but it’s obvious there’s an elephant in the room (pun intented).

    • Regina A. Addo

      Hi Ro, thanks for commenting! Going to a restaurant can be an experience at times. The glares and stares, whispers and hissers, but I just tell myself that my money spends like their money. NEXT! But ya gotta walk into a room and OWN IT! That’s what I NOW do because I know people are looking but shucks, they’re gonna do that anyway! I’m a people watcher because I just like people! 🙂 I think I’ll talk about that in my next blog! 😉

  • Lady D

    As I am reading some of the comments, I agree with the restaurant stares and glares and I agree that you must OWN the room. But I find that the problem lays within…Not LOVING yourself enough to own it. I first had to learn how to LOVE me and it doesn’t matter that if someone else does not. Yea, I know we all want to be accepted by others, but at the end of the day…Love starts with you! I must say that I am one of the lucky ones. I have a very, extremely supportive husband. This man has loved me at various sizes and today he still loves me. His love allows me to be me and that is great and wonderful. Today, I try to give back to young ladies and men that I come in contact with. So many are trying, but tend to fail because no one is in their corner or at least they think. The people in the world are cruel and heartless, but if a few of us would band together and support each other, we can make the world a better place one minute, one hour, one day at a time.

  • Zanjha Brown

    Gina,
    I am glad you were the bigger person in this scenario. I do not condone rudeness, I deplore it. I definitely think it is better to be silent. To be the devil’s advocate, maybe it was just an eye opener and we just have to see it as that. In the other cases you are so correct that is just like saying which I get A LOT “You are so articulate”.. As opposed to what; you don’t even know me. Stereotypes are so deceptive and undermining. Keep up the good work you are doing!

    Luv Ya

  • Erin

    Hey Gina!
    What happened to you on that plane was so wrong! Whew..sometimes it is sooo hard to hold our tongues too& to love those who persecute us! I know the “old me” would have gone off!! Haha 😉 …That’s just what the enemy wants tho..we just gotta brush our shoulders off & move on! With Him on our side we can overcome anything! Thanks for keepin it real & sharing this..God bless & continue to strengthen you!!

Please share your thoughts...

