Letting Go…The Process (Part 1)

Many times you may have heard the cliché “Let go…and let God!” It’s usually at a time when there is great frustration, disappointment, a trial, discouragement, heartbreak/ache, and etc. What does “let go and let God” really mean? What does it look like? If there is a special formula to it, then why don’t many of us practice it? I mean like REALLY, REALLY practice it — before things become too overwhelming and out-of-control — before we do ALL that we can do — before we reach the point of exhaustion? Do we really walk victoriously as we proclaim during the walk in the wilderness? Do we really trust God’s word that He will fight our battles? Do we believe wholeheartedly that He will never leave us nor forsake us?

Through the many hardships that I have had to endure in this life of mine as I’m sure we all have and if you haven’t (as my grandfather would say, “keep living”). Most of us hang on to things that should have been let go a long, long time ago (*raised hand). Let me be the first to say “IT IS NOT AS EASY AS YOU THINK!” Some people hold on to anger, hurt, disappointing events that took place in our childhood, as a teenager, or as an adult that was very traumatic. It is definitely a process. Some things have been so suppressed in memory that it has been mistaken as forgotten or it has been “let go”. IF what you are going through or have already experienced hasn’t been sealed in forgiveness, prayer, and the truth of God’s word…I am sorry to be the bearer of bad news — IT WILL RESURFACE! God is the only one that can enable us to be able to “let go” — it’s a matter of the heart and He is our great Physician — our Healer. Let’s be candid – I’m talking about the deep, down, dirty things that are swept under the rug, such as abandonment, sexual offenses such as molestation and rape, infidelity, lies, abuse from your spouse or significant other. The list goes on and on…

There will come a time that in our lives that we MUST move on…but it IS a process. A process that I am still learning to put into practice in my own life. Sometimes I get stuck…it depresses, suppresses, and oppresses and you can NOT move forward in the things you should be doing so there is a method to the madness!

  • Prayer – “Give all your worries and cares to God, for He cares about you.” (1 Peter 5:7 NLT) Find a quiet place and for a few minutes just share with God what has been hurting you. Tell Him EVERYTHING–no matter what it is–He will listen! “But in my distress I cried out to the Lord; yes, I cried to my God for help. He heard me from His sanctuary; my cry reached his ears.” (2 Samuel 22:7 NLT)
  • Confide in Someone – Don’t keep it all bottled up inside–talk to someone who will LISTEN and share solid, Godly counsel with you. “The heartfelt counsel of a friend is as sweet as perfume and incense.” (Prov. 27:9 NLT).
  • Journal – Write out your feelings is another way to express how you feel. Pouring your thoughts out on paper will definitely free up clutter from your mind. Be as transparent as you care to be. This is YOUR platform!

Wait! I guess you’re wondering…what about forgiveness? As Believers, we know that it is not an option. Forgiveness is a heart issue and a process within itself..Stay tuned for “Letting Go…The Process” Part 2 Forgiveness.

About "Ms. Gina"

I'm merely a vessel to be used by God. In covenant with the Lord Jesus. I believe the infallible Word of God, His Son Jesus Christ, and the power of the Holy Spirit! In which I am nothing without Him. Currently, residing in Orlando, Florida. I am also a budding entrepreneur to coach and motivate women in leadership, youth empowerment, and supporting women in becoming the "MORE THAN" they were designed to be and to go in and possess the land! My blogs are a conglomeration of personal experiences, things "caught and taught", and pearls of wisdom shared. I am a graduate of Nova Southeastern University with a Masters of Science in Leadership and Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. Come along on the journey with me...WELCOME TO MY WORLD! ~Blessings and Favor! For more info...www.imotivatesolutions.com View all posts by "Ms. Gina"

15 responses to “Letting Go…The Process (Part 1)

  • Kizze' Talks About

    Your right it is so hard to practice this. As much as I confide in God I haven’t let go. I think I do but I continuously put myself back in the same situation of hurt and pain, questioning why, why, why? I promised myself today that I would not continue. As I have gone too long like this. I am stepping in the way of my blessings.

    Thank you for sharing that with me, that just another reminder of the happiness that awaits if I let go and let God!

    • igina

      Hi Kizzie! Trust me I know exactly what and where you are!! I have been there and not too far from there even as we speak. It really is a PROCESS and we have to allow the power of the Holy Spirit to do just that…be a Comforter to us when we need it most! We are REAL people with REAL feelings and to alienate those feelings as if they don’t exist can harden our hearts. God wants us to bring ALL our cares to Him for He cares for us! Why else would He say that?? Right!? LOL! It takes time and in the process we need God to empower us to not hold on to those feelings of hurt and pain but to be free of them so that we can be prepared for the blessings that await for us. You continue to hang in there and feel free to reach out. Stay tuned for Part 2… Thanks for reading my post and leaving a comment. It’s appreciated! STAY encouraged…one small step at a time! Blessings~

  • Bhoranie

    Wow! Great post girl!!

  • ministerofmotivation

    Awesome post…..I like what Barney Fife said (The Andy Griffin Show)…NIP IN THE BUD, ANDY…NIP IT NIP IT NIP IT!!!!

  • ms. rend

    “Amazing thought”. When I sit, I listen, when I lay my head down, I hear but I as soon I close my eye, those old thought keep poping up in my head over, over, over again. It’s come and goes but those thought want go away. I believe that’s why, I can’t move forward with my thought but God please hear me, I am exhaustion! Please remove those thought that keep coming up in my brain cell so I can move forward. Its not that easie at all to “let go” and “let God” but I have to keep on trying until I can’t try anymore. Great job igina 😀

    • igina

      God knows & hears our thoughts from afar, even before we know what our next thought is going to be. Hurt, pain, & disappointments can rob us of our precious time & energy and once its gone…its gone. So, we must walk this out, pray it out, cry it out, talk it out, shout it out, or write it out. We have to ask the Holy Spirit to massage our hearts & heal us and receive it & walk in it one day at a time that God gives us. Each day He blesses us to see another day we must choose…be empowered…get motivated…to walk in total victory! You can do it & so can I!! ❤

  • Lakia Gordon

    Great post! There were many hardships I had to endure during my lifetime too, BUT God! The techniques that you used do help (glad you took Scriptures to confirm), and I am grateful for them 🙂 I think journaling was my fave.

    • igina

      Hi Lakia! Thanks so much for taking the time to read my blogs and many thanks for your comment. I oftentimes have to remind myself of the same. 🙂 Blessings to you! Stay tuned…

  • Natasha Renae

    Love your blogs, may you be used to touch the lives of each and everyone that your blogs reach in a positive and motivating way…continue to change lives with your words of wisdom because surely God Chose You to do THIS work! Amen. I LOVE You Sistagirlfriend! Blessings… 🙂

  • David L Outing

    Great commentary my sister! The content hits home with all of us. Nothing happens randomly or by chance! God is the master at causing ALL things to work for His and our good! Letting go is a choice, yet many if not most people choose to not let go! Even Jesus said to “LET not your heart be trouble” – Christ was letting us know then that it’s up to us to hold on to trouble or choose to believe in Him and cast ALL of our cares upon Him. It all goes back to the garden and the two trees; one gives us life and the other death, but the choice remains with us! Thanks again for a powerful devotional that provoked such inward reflection for one like me who sometimes is challenged to just “Let Go”!!!!!!

  • Angiewalker

    Amazing that I would run across this message tonite,i just told my sis-law that I was letting go n letting GOD…..she was upset because I express my feelings by writting them down in a letter…but once I put it on paper I could feel the pain,hurt,humilation leaving me …God is the healer and he grants us our hearts desire…to much is given much is required …..GOD gives me so much and I always feel I dont give enough…Blessed n a Believer

    • Regina A. Addo

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog. 🙂 You are absolutely correct that when tou start to write these things down it stirs up a lot of emotions but it also is a great release! God bless you and have a very Happy New Year!

      When you get an opportunity, please click the “follow” button. Stay tuned… ~Blessings!

Please share your thoughts...

